Meatball Subs: Quick & Easy Recipe

14 Mar

I have a confession: I’m addicted to Pinterest recipes. Pat and I are not huge fans of consuming red meat (or even pork-related meat for that matter), so we chicken a lot. And I mean a lot. Pre-Pinterest, we had a handful of reliable chicken recipes, but didn’t deviate too far from them. Now with Pinterest, I have what seems like unlimited new recipe options to try making with chicken. (I realize there are these things call “cookbooks” but 97% of the books I own are strictly for pasta dishes – and I’m too cheap to buy any more; however, I will gladly accept donations).

Despite our devotion to consuming chicken, there are some nights when we need a break from the endless dinners of chicken. Or at least I do – Pat could eat chicken for breakfast, lunch and dinner and it wouldn’t matter to him – I, on the other hand, need variety. I found this amazingly simple recipe for meatball subs and had to try it, especially since my better half is a strong advocate for Subway’s meatball subs.

Ingredient list:

  • 1 package of hot dog buns
  • Shredded mozzarella cheese
  • Red pasta sauce
  • Frozen meatballs (or homemade, depending on how ambitious you are or if you have leftovers from a delicious spaghetti dinner – stay tuned for a homemade meatball recipe!)
Meatball subs ingredients

Yes, we’re cheap and buy Target brand meatballs.

Directions:

  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  • Heat up some meatballs and red sauce in a pan on the stove (roughly 5-10 minutes while the oven preheats). Pro tip: four frozen meatballs fit ‘comfortably’ in one hot dog bun; the amount of sauce is up to the cooker’s discretion – it all depends on how ‘saucy’ you like your subs.
  • Place 4-5 meatballs per hot dog bun and sprinkle some mozzarella cheese on top of each sub.
  • Put the meatball-filled hot dog buns on a cookie sheet and place them in the oven; cook for about 10 minutes or until cheese is melted.
  • Enjoy!
Meatball subs

Pat couldn’t wait to take a bite because they’re THAT good.

This is seriously the simplest recipe ever – and soooo delicious. Prior to finding this recipe, Pat didn’t get Pinterest or understand why I was always lurking for new recipes. However, he now approves of Pinterest solely because of this meatball sub recipe. “This is Pat Knight, and I approve this sub.”

Source: Home Cooking Recipes

Leave a Reply

