follow friday, wedding dress edition

25 Jan

Today I was thrilled to be joining my beautiful cousin Jenna as she embarked on the ever exciting, yet dreaded, wedding dress shopping. While in Florida for her and her fiance Andy’s annual January trip, she went dressing shopping with a friend and surprising even herself, found THE dress. So while she thinks she already found THE one, she wanted to try on some dresses in Minnesota to further ensure to herself she did find THE dress.

Miss Jenna Sue started her wedding dress shopping escapade at Bella Bridal Boutique in Woodbury; I unfortunately was not able to attend because of work, but had my sister take and send pictures of each dress Jenna tried on. She looked stunning in all of the pictures my sister sent me.

Second stop on the bridal dress train was The Wedding Shoppe on Grand Avenue in St. Paul. I was fortunately able to join for this stop, while my sister had to jet off to work; we traded places and I, in turn, sent her pictures of dresses Jenna tried on here. I (personally) loved everything about The Wedding Shoppe; the attendant was helpful, the experience, the dress selection, the cute little old house the shop was in – everything. And, even though Jenna pretty much had her mind made up on the dress, the attendant encouraged her to get the dress she wanted, without trying to hard sell the dresses she was bringing to try on.

When I went wedding dress shopping, I started my trek online by looking at hundreds of dresses before stepping foot in a store; ironically, I had picked out one dress (which ended up being THE dress) on two different websites. But I regretfully purchased THE dress at David’s Bridal. I would highly recommend anyone looking to purchase a wedding dress to avoid David’s Bridal at ALL costs. I had a horrible experience from the start, but feared that if I looked elsewhere I wouldn’t be able to find that dress again. I foolishly fell victim to their ‘scare’ tactics, purchasing my dress then and there on my first dress shopping experience, losing out on visiting The Wedding Shoppe – or other bridal boutique gems around the Cities. I still love the dress I wore on my wedding day, but would have preferred avoiding the headache of dealing with David’s Bridal.

Pat and I already have four weddings to attend this year – and we can’t wait to celebrate with our friends and family about to start the rest of their lives with the ones they love. Andy and Jenna are having a destination wedding, in beautiful Aspen, Colorado where they got engaged. I am pumped we are invited to attend and can’t wait to see the beautiful fall colors gracing the mountain sides. From their post-engagement pictures, it looks GORGEOUS – and they will have some killer wedding photos. Congrats again Jenna Sue! You’re going to make a beautiful bride.

Leave a Reply

