Once in a lifetime

27 Apr

My apologies – it has been awhile since my last post. I blame the fact that I’ve been writing blog posts for clients all day long and analyzing web statistics that the last thing I want to do when I get home is spend my evening staring at a computer screen. An excuse nonetheless, I vow to get better at blogging more frequently (practice what you preach at work, right?).

I have mentioned previously that I’m an avid travel enthusiast – and poor Pat probably didn’t know the extent of my love for traveling before he said, “I do.” I’m sorry, hubs! I promise I’ll try to keep the getaways to a minimum – and by minimum I mean less than 10. 🙂 While I love exploring new places of any sorts, a tropical location is by far my favorite. What is better than the sun, the sand and a drink in my hand to clear the mind and recoup from what we can only assume has been awhile since my last break from work/everyday happenings of life?

One thing that Pat and I were adamant about with our wedding planning was to take a honeymoon immediately following – or at least leave within a few days of our wedding date. The hullabaloo that comes with a wedding can get overwhelming at certain times (let’s be honest, its mostly the numbers) and what better way to start our marriage than a relaxing getaway, just the two of us? As much as we would have both love to go someplace exotic in the Caribbean or some where floating along the equator, we really didn’t want to be blown to smithereens by a category five hurricane. I guess that’s what we get for having a summer wedding, huh? The alternative to the exotic hurricane-ridden tropics of the Caribbean? The volcanic islands of Hawaii! Hawaii seemed like a sure bet on weather and island beauty. A special thanks to both Chris and Andrea, as well as Jim and Cam on their advice on which island to visit and the activities to do/see!

After some slight deliberation and searching online, Pat and I decided to go to Maui – and we were NOT disappointed. When we returned from our honeymoon, everyone would ask how Maui is – and there literally are no words to describe how beautifully perfect it is! I found a GREAT travel package for us online (if you ever need help booking a vacation, ask me – I can find travel deals in a power outage snowstorm) – while our flight was long, it was SO worth the wait. As a side note, we recommend not taking an American Airlines flight long distances – in an eight hour flight, we each got ONE soda. That’s it. We learned our lesson for the flight back to stock up on food and extra drinks, but a friendly FYI for those traveling with American Airlines.

Anyway, the hotel included in the package was an ocean view room at the Hyatt Regency in Maui. Saying it was a five-star hotel is an understatement. I mean, check out our daily view!!

The grounds were amazing – free forming, organic, spread out across what seemed like a mile of oceanfront beach made the hotel seem so personable and not-crowded (even though the hotel has 800+ rooms).

The sunsets never failed on beauty. We stayed on Kanaapali Beach, which is on the west side of Maui, so just walking along the path throughout the Hyatt Regency’s property we were able to take some amazing pictures. I couldn’t believe the beautiful colors in the sky as the sun sank on the horizon!

The first morning Pat and I were there, we woke up long before the sun was supposed to rise to drive to the top of Mount Haleakala. We were over 10,000 feet above sea level and watched the sun rise above the clouds. One of the most amazing sights I have ever seen. I am SO glad we drove up there, even if I’m not a morning person!

We also opted to take our chances driving on the road to Hana. The drive itself was serve-racking as all hell, but the sights seemed like they were straight from a story book. There were waterfalls, tropical rain forest donned cliffs lining the crystal blue ocean; but the road along these beautiful sites was one and a half cars wide, at best. And since we were on the ‘tropical’ side of the island, rain was plentiful. We stopped at the Twin Falls (at least a mile hike back into the forest), black sand beach and other scenic lookout points along the road. The drive was well worth it – especially once we found the only restaurant in Hana for a bite to eat, and discovered they had the Badgers game on!

Twin Falls - the first stop on the Road to Hana

Without the help of our parents, our wedding wouldn’t have been possible – thank you for everything. And a special thank you to Rodger and Nora for our gift – a honeymoon in Maui was truly a once in a lifetime experience we will never forget.

Leave a Reply

