Gorgonzola…Not for Me.

30 Jan

Week #2 in our New Year’s Resolution plan of cooking a new recipe once per week was – well, a learning experience to say the least. As mentioned in a previous post, we have five cookbooks, all but one which are of the pasta variety so we were bound to make AT LEAST one pasta dish every few weeks. The recipe was pretty far out of my comfort zone of red Prego sauce, but I was all about trying out something new. I lived in Madison, Wisconsin for 5+ years so I am no stranger to cheese; but of all types of cheese, Gorgonzola has never hit a sweet spot with me and I’ve steered clear of it. That type of cheese is just too … “bleu cheesy” for me. Why did I try out this recipe you ask? Your guess is as good as mine… it was pasta (something I love) and new (something I’m trying in 2012). Try it out for yourself and let me know what you think!

Farfalle with Gorgonzola & Ham – from “Perfect Pasta” cookbook

1 cup sour cream

8 oz cremini mushrooms, quartered

14 oz dried farfalle (the bowtie pasta noodles!)

3 oz Gorgonzola cheese, crumbled

1 tbsp  chooped parsley (plus extra sprigs to garnish, if you want to be fancy)

1 cup diced cooked ham

salt and pepper

Pour the sour cream into a pan, add the mushrooms, and season to taste with salt and pepper. Bring to just below a boil, then reduce the heat and simmer very gently, stirring occasionally, for 8-10 minutes, until the cream has thickened.

Meanwhile, bring a large pan of lightly salted water to a boil. Add the pasta, bring back to a boil and cook for 8-10 minutes, until tender, but still firm to the bite.

Remove the pan of mushrooms from the heat and stir in the cheese until it has melted. Return the pan to low heat and stir in the chopped parsley and ham.

Drain the pasta and add it to the sauce. Toss lightly, then divide among individual warmed plates. Garnish with parsley sprigs and serve.

This will be on our “never make again” list. As mentioned, I’m not a fan of cheeses in the bleu cheese family, so I should have had a slight indication as to how it would taste, but opted to try it out any way. Pat had never had Gorgonzola cheese before, so he was up for it – I tried one bite and almost spit it back out onto my plate. I threw the rest away (Max didn’t even want to get near it!) and made a gourmet sandwich – of the PB&J variety. Pat was polite and finished his plate, but told me I could throw out the rest so we didn’t have leftovers. He’s too sweet 🙂 at least he tried something new!

Leave a Reply

